Home About Me Publications Patents Contributions Gallery Contact

Scientific Contributions

In his doctoral work at Banaras Hindu University, under the guidance of Late Prof. P. Ramachandra Rao, Arvind Sinha has developed a symmetry operation based algorithm for the generation of two dimensional quasiperiodic lattices with five fold rotational symmetry. Sinha's work provided a crystallographic basis for the empirical matching rules proposed by Roger Penrose.

During 1993 - 1998 at CSIR-NML, he has developed borohydride reduction based room temperature process for the chemical synthesis of neodymium-iron-boron permanent magnetic nanoparticles, using indigenously available raw materials and demonstrated the process to Indian Rare Earth Limited.

In the year 2000, established an interdisciplinary research group on Biomimetic Materials at CSIR-NML, Jamshedpur and demonstrated that nanosized cavities present in the structures of polymer hydrogels and quaternary structures of proteins can be exploited as nanoreactors for the synthesis nanoparticles of uniform shape and size, undergoing ordered assembly in three dimensions. He could successfully translate the scientific ideas on biomimetics into novel process know-hows for nanobioceramics. Dr. Sinha’s group has been successful in transferring six know-hows to three different industries which has led to the commercialization of three indigenous bioceramic products.

Dr. Sinha has successfully conducted biomimetic synthesis of hydroxyapatite nanoparticles under microgravity during India’s first recoverable space capsule’s (SRE-1) flight onboard PSLV-C7 launched on January 10, 2007 from Sri Hari Kota. Obtained results from the microgravity experiment do validate the hypothesis proposed by Dr. Sinha on the role of gravitation force on biomimetic synthesis of nanoparticles and biomineralization.

Academic Contributions

  • Designed and ran a course entitled Introduction to Materials for the AcSIR-NML students not having background in Materials Engineering and Metallurgy. This course has been operational from 2012.

  • Took-over as Coordinator-AcSIR-NML since January 2013 and since then actively involved in developing and implementing academic and administrative systems at AcSIR-NML,besides smooth interfacing with AcSIR HQ and AcSIR Coordination Office.

  • Played proactive role in initiating PhD and Int. PhD course for industry sponsored candidates at AcSIR-NML, renaming the title of M. Tech and PhD degree being offered to AcSIR-NML students. Have also been active in getting a Steel Chair Professorship sanctioned from Ministry of Steel to AcSIR-NML.

  • Coordinated and ran the course entitled Engineering Materials at TATA Motors under BITS Pilani’s B. Tech (Production Engineering) programme for Diploma holder employees of Tata Motors during 2015-16.


  • Elected Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), 2011

  • Nijhavan Award (Best scientific paper award of CSIR-NML), 2015

  • Sahaj Memorial Lecture Award of Indian Ceramic Society, 2013

  • N.P. Gandhi Memorial Fellow, Department of Metallurgical Engineering, IIT(BHU), 2011

  • CSIR-Raman Research Fellow, 2006

  • Materials Research Society Medal Lecture Award, 2005

  • Altekar Award (CSIR-NML award for best technology developed, transferred and commercialized), 2004

  • CSIR-Young Scientist Award (Engineering Sciences), 1999

  • University Gold Medal for Materials Science, IIT Roorkee, 1986

  • Member of Editorial Boards of ISST Journal of Applied Physics (ISSN : 0976-903X) and Journal of Powder Metallurgy & Mining

  • Affiliations:
    • Chairman, Jharkhand State Chapter, National Academy of Sciences, India
    • Life Member of Materials Research Society of India
    • Life Member of Indian Science Congress
    • Life Member of Indian Institute of Metals